Visakhapatnam Police

Who’s Who in Visakhapatnam Police Department

Commissioner of Police
Amit Garg

Deputy Commissioner of Police

Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime)
T Ravi Kumar Murthy

Assistant Commissioner of Police
Sri P.Venkata Rao

Assistant Commissioner of Police
D Ravi Babu - Madhurawada zone

Additional D.C.P of Police
Sri P.Rama Rao

Superintendent of Police
Akun Sabharwal

Additional Superintendent of Police (Operations), Visakhapatnam Rural
Babujee Attada, IPS

D.I.G./I.G./Additional D.G. of Police

Kancharapalem CI
Raghuveer Vishnu

Fourth Town Police Station - Inspector
NV Prabhakar

While we take extreme care to update the information on this page, we may occassionaly miss updating information on this page. Thus, information on this page need not be comprehensive and latest and is presented here as general information. Designations may not necessarily be as per protocol order.

Former Police Officials

Former Commissioners of Police
B Shivadhar Reddy
J Purnachandra Rao
Sambasiva Rao
VSK Kaumudi

Former Superintendent of Police
Sri J.G. Murali, IPS
Sri V.V.Srinivasa Rao

Former D.I.G./I.G./Additional D.G. of Police
Govind Singh
Sri N.Madanmohan

Traffic Police

Along with their regular duties, the Traffic Police in Visakhapatnam counsels minor who were found driving without license and their parents from time to time. A similar exercise was conducted on 26 November 2012 at the Assistant Commissioner of Police (traffic).

Who’s Who - Visakhapatnam Traffic Police

Additional Deputy Commissioner of Police (traffic)
V Suresh Babu

ACP (traffic)
Kinjarapu Prabhakar

Traffic Inspectors
A Srinivasa Rao (Kancharapalem)
Y Govinda Rao (Malkapuram)
Ch. Penta Rao (Steel Plant)

Former Police Officials

Former ACP (traffic)
Raja Rao

City Task Force Police

Assistant Commissioner of Police (Task Force) - I Chittibabu


In January, special teams have been formed under the City Task Force police to curb cockfight during the upcoming Sankranthi festival. According to ACP (Task Force) I Chittibabu, Nakapalle and Yelamanchili are the hot spots under the district police. Bheemili, Anandapuram, Padmanabham and Tagarapuvalasa are the focus areas under the city commissioner purview.

New Port Police

  • CI - G Srinivasu
  • SI - Yerram Naidu

The New Port Police have arrested a person for impersonating a naval officer and collecting money from people in the name of providing jobs in the Indian Navy and Indian Air Force. The accused moved to the city from Kantabanji, Odisha three years ago and has been cheating people for a living. He was earlier arrested on a cheating case in November 2015.

Gajuwaka Police Station

  • CI - M Appa Rao

Two Town Police

KV Ramana is the Cricle Inspector of the Two Town Circle.


On 12 December 2015, three persons including a rowdy sheeter were arrested in an attempt to murder case. The arrested M Chitti Babu, T Lakshman and Nagendra tried to kill A Raja on 9 December.

Fourth Town Police

Circle Inspector: Shanmuk Rao

Ananthagiri Police

On 13 January 2016, Ananthagiri Police intercepted a four-wheeler and seized the contraband that was being transported in the car at Ananthagiri. The contraband was being procured from parts of Vizag Agency to transport to parts of Tamil Nadu. About 200 kgs of dry ganga was seized and two persons were arrested.


On 11 January 2016, Babujee Attada took charge as Additional Superintendent of Police (Operations), Visakhapatnam Rural. Babujee is an IPS officer of 2011 batch.